Three ICM faculty among 2018 Discovery Award winning research teams


Three Institute for Computational Medicine faculty are members of research endeavors that were awarded 2018 Discovery Awards. William S. Anderson, associate professor of neurosurgery at The School of Medicine and attending neurosurgeon at The Johns Hopkins Hospital; Natalia Trayanova, Murray B. Sachs Professor of biomedical engineering; and Joel Bader, professor of biomedical engineering, were each part of a different, award-winning project chosen to receive funding from Johns Hopkins University’s Discovery Awards Program.

Development of a Focused Microwave NeuroAblation System – William Anderson (Medicine), Pawel Kudela (Medicine), Ra’id Awadallah (Applied Physics Lab) & Jacob Alldredge (Applied Physics Lab)

Novel Methods for Non-Invasive Assessment of Myocardial Fibrosis Complexity and Disorganization to Predict Ventricular Arrhythmias – Jonathan Chrispin (Medicine), Katherine Wu (Medicine), Mauro Maggioni (Engineering), Steven Jones (Medicine), David Okada (Medicine) & Natalia Trayanova (Engineering)

Targeting Collective Invasion in Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma – Laura Wood (Medicine) & Joel Bader (Engineering)

These are among 30 multidisciplinary endeavors that were awarded funding. Each project team is made up of members from at least two JHU entities who aim to solve a complex problem and expand the horizons of knowledge.

Altogether, the winning project teams-chosen from 190 proposals-include 108 individuals representing 11 Johns Hopkins entities. They are joined this year by all 10 university divisions.

A complete list of 2018 Discovery Award recipients can be found on the Office of Research website.

JHU - Institute for Computational Medicine