Suchi Saria and team receive Armstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety


Suchi Saria, the John C. Malone Assistant Professor of Computer Science, is part of a team of Johns Hopkins researchers that has received the Armstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety. The award is presented annually to a physician or team who partners with patients, families, colleagues, and staff members to optimize patient outcomes and eliminate preventable harm.

The team—which includes Johns Hopkins clinicians Anirudh Sridharan, Robert Linton, and Jeanette Nazarian; computer science graduate students Katharine Henry, Tony Wang, and Andong Zhan; and computer science research scientist Hossein Soleimani—was recognized for their work implementing TREWS at Howard County General Hospital. TREWS is a targeted real-time early warning system for sepsis.

The team compared signs and symptoms of patients who have sepsis with patients who don’t in order to improve identification and treatment of the devastating infection. As a result of this data, the hospital is seeing fewer readmissions, fewer sepsis patients being admitted to the ICU, and fewer patients who experience secondary organ failure.

Read the full announcement at Johns Hopkins Medicine >>


JHU - Institute for Computational Medicine