ICM affiliates receive 2021 WSE Convocation Awards


There are many familiar names in this year’s list of convocation awards. Distributed on April 5 by Ed Schlesinger, Benjamin T. Rome Dean of The Whiting School of Engineering, the 2021 Whiting School Convocation Awards recognize several ICM undergraduates, graduate students, and faculty for their excellence in academics, research or teaching. The awards, their recipients, and ICM affiliations are as follows:

Applied Mathematics and Statistics Achievement Award
This award recognizes outstanding achievement by one or more undergraduates across a broad spectrum of department activities, including academic performance, research, pedagogy, and leadership.
Jialiu (Annie) Liang (Trayanova Lab)

Professor Joel Dean Award for Excellence in Teaching
The Professor Joel Dean Award for Excellence in Teaching is given annually to one or more teaching assistants and/or faculty members who demonstrate an intense devotion to teaching and a talent for making mathematics more understandable. The award, based on a review of recommendations from students and faculty, was established by Joel Dean, Jr., a Whiting, Krieger, and Peabody School parent, in honor of his father. The award is supported by the Joel Dean Foundation.
Jason Miller (Maggioni Lab)

Teaching Fellow Recognition Award
These PhD students have achieved the rank of teaching fellow in the Teaching Fellows Program of the Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics in recognition of their outstanding performance as teaching assistants. Teaching fellows prepare and present all lectures in a course, prepare the course syllabus and lecture schedules, and supervise teaching assistants.
Vittorio Loprinzo (Geman & Younes Labs), Jason Miller (Maggioni Lab), Dan Popescu (Trayanova Lab), Yashil Sukurdeep (Charon Lab)

Linda Trinh Memorial Award
This award is dedicated to the memory of Linda Trinh, Class of 2005, who worked tirelessly through her research and volunteer efforts to improve the human condition. It is awarded to a design team that embodies her spirit, qualities, and accomplishments.
Katherine Hu ’20 (Sarma Lab)

Richard J. Johns Award
This award is named in honor of Dr. Richard J. Johns, former director of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, who retired in 1991 and passed away in November 2020. Dr. Johns received his medical degree from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 1948. The award is presented to students who have achieved a high level of academic success.
Afareen Jaleel (Sarma Lab), Jessica Kasamoto (Miller & Ratnanather Labs), Stephen Kyranakis (Trayanova Lab), Jialiu (Annie) Liang (Trayanova Lab), Silu Men (Sarma Lab), Maggie Wang (Miller Lab)

David T. Yue Memorial Award
This award is dedicated to the memory of David T. Yue, MD, PhD Class of 1987, who was a joyful teacher, inspiring mentor, world-renowned scientist, and beloved colleague in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. It recognizes outstanding teaching or mentoring by undergraduate teaching assistants or laboratory managers.
Afareen Jaleel (Sarma Lab)  

Creel Family Teaching Assistant Award
Teaching assistants play a key role in education, and this award, established by George C. Creel ’55, recognizes their effort, enthusiasm, and contribution to the Department of
Mechanical Engineering.
Shantanu Bailoor (Mittal Lab)

Awardees will be recognized at the 2021 convocation ceremonies. Congratulations to all recipients for their achievements!

JHU - Institute for Computational Medicine