News: Student Highlight

Three Students from ICM Receive Provost’s Undergraduate Research Awards


Three students have been granted PURAs, Provost’s Undergraduate Research Awards, for their research in the Institute for Computational Medicine. Established in 1993 with an endowment by the Hodson Trust, the PURA program was created to support and encourage Hopkins undergraduate students to engage in independent research, scholarly and creative projects. Each student will receive $3000 […]

Read More

Septic Shock Starts Earlier Than Previously Understood


Sepsis and septic shock are the leading causes of in-hospital deaths. Dr. Raimond Winslow, Director of the Institute for Computational Medicine and Raj and Neera Singh Professor in the Dept. of Biomedical Engineering and Ran Liu, doctoral student in the lab of Dr. Winslow, say their findings could help provide earlier identification of the patients […]

Read More

Rachel June Smith Selected as 2020 AES Fellow


Rachel June Smith, a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Sridevi Sarma, ICM core faculty member and associate professor of Biomedical Engineering, has been selected as a 2020 American Epilepsy Society Fellow.  The AES Fellows Program supports development for early career researchers, clinicians, and advanced practice providers. Its goal is to engage promising epilepsy professionals […]

Read More

Adam Li, ICM PhD student, Receives ARCS Scholarship


Adam Li, a PhD student in the lab of Sridevi Sarma, ICM core faculty member and associate professor of Biomedical Engineering, has been named an ARCS Foundation, Metropolitan Washington Chapter Scholar for 2020-2021. Recipients of this prestigious scholarship are academically outstanding STEM students working to advance science and technology in the United States.  Adam’s research […]

Read More

Joseph Yu Awarded NIH NRSA Fellowship


Joseph Yu, a BME PhD candidate in the lab of Natalia Trayanova, a core faculty member of the ICM as well as the director of ADVANCE, has been awarded a National Research Service Award from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) for his proposal, A Biophysical Modeling Approach for Understanding Arrhythmia Mechanisms Arising […]

Read More

Annie Liang Receives Barry Goldwater Scholarship


Annie Liang, Biomedical Engineering junior mentored by PhD candidate, Joseph Yu, and ICM Core Faculty member and ADVANCE Director, Natalia Trayanova, has received a Barry Goldwater Scholarship. Annie seeks to develop and leverage biophysically-detailed, multiscale mathematical models of the cardiovascular system to gain biological and mechanistic insights. Congratulations, Annie!

Read More

Dante Basile and Julia Costacurta Receive 2019-20 PURA Awards


Dante Basile, a BME sophomore in the ICM laboratory of Natalia Trayanova, Murray B. Sachs Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Julia Costacurta a BME senior the lab of Sridevi Sarma, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Associate Director of ICM, are among the 40 recipients of the 2019-20 Provost’s Undergraduate Research Award (PURA). Dante’s proposal […]

Read More

Qingchu Jin awarded ICM’s 2019-2020 Gakenheimer Fellowship


Qingchu Jin, a PhD candidate in the department of biomedical engineering, is the recipient of the 2019-2020 Gakenheimer Fellowship. The award will support Jin’s research in the lab of  ICM Director, Raimond Winslow, Raj and Neera Singh Professor of Biomedical Engineering. The Gakenheimer Fellowship was established in 2013 by Johns Hopkins Engineering alumnus, David C. Gakenheimer, […]

Read More

Silu Men, ICM undergraduate student, receives 2019 PURA


Silu Men, a rising junior in biomedical engineering, is one of 30 recipients of the 2019 Summer Provost’s Undergraduate Research Award (PURA). This summer, Silu will be working on his proposal titled, “Using Functional Connectivity to Understand the Relationship between Value-Driven Attention Capture and Electroencephalography Data” in the lab of Sridevi Sarma, associate professor of […]

Read More

Julia Costacurta, ICM undergraduate, named Goldwater Scholar


Julia Costacurta, a junior biomedical engineering and mathematics major in the lab of ICM associate director, Sridevi Sarma, is one of three Johns Hopkins University students who has been awarded Goldwater Scholarships for their research and achievements in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math for the 2019-2020 academic year. Read the full article […]

Read More

JHU - Institute for Computational Medicine