News & Announcements

Yingnan (Nancy) Zhang named ICM’s 2021-2022 Gakenheimer Fellow


Yingnan Zhang, a PhD candidate in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, is the recipient of the 2021-2022 Gakenheimer Fellowship. The award will support Zhang’s research in the lab of Natalia Trayanova, Murray B. Sachs Professor of Biomedical Engineering. The Gakenheimer Fellowship was established in 2013 by Johns Hopkins Engineering alumnus David C. Gakenheimer, PhD, who […]

Read More

Joel Bader Named ICM Interim Director


Joel Bader, Professor of Biomedical Engineering and ICM core faculty member, was named interim director of both the Institute for Computational Medicine and the Malone Center for Engineering in Healthcare on July 1. A leader in systems biology of human disease, computational biology, and synthetic biology, Bader’s research focuses on genomics and biotechnology and the connection between genotype and phenotype, […]

Read More

Karthik Menon awarded the Mark O. Robbins Prize in High Performance Computing


Karthik Menon, a doctoral candidate in the lab of ICM core faculty member and professor of mechanical engineering Rajat Mittal, is an inaugural winner of the Mark O. Robbins Prize in High Performance Computing. Karthik, who is pursuing his PhD in Mechanical Engineering, researches the development of computational and data-driven techniques to study the interaction of […]

Read More

Sri Sarma awarded 2021 Convocation Award for Excellence in Mentoring


Sri Sarma, associate director of the Institute for Computational Medicine, is the recipient of the Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising. This award, created by Capers and Marion McDonald, is given to honor teachers, researchers, and administrators who have consistently supported the personal and professional development of their students. Sarma […]

Read More

Q & A with Sri Sarma, ICM’s associate director


 How can we detect and fix pathological connections and signals in the central nervous system to optimally treat or even cure epilepsy and chronic pain? That is the question guiding Sri Sarma’s research. Learn more about Sri, her research and the inspiration behind it in her Q & A with The Kavli Foundation. 

Read More

ICM affiliates receive 2021 WSE Convocation Awards


There are many familiar names in this year’s list of convocation awards. Distributed on April 5 by Ed Schlesinger, Benjamin T. Rome Dean of The Whiting School of Engineering, the 2021 Whiting School Convocation Awards recognize several ICM undergraduates, graduate students, and faculty for their excellence in academics, research or teaching. The awards, their recipients, […]

Read More

Sri Sarma featured on


In addition to her role as Associate Director of the Institute for Computational Medicine, Sri Sarma is a faculty member of the Kavli Neuroscience Discovery Institute, where she works closely with clinicians to help them better diagnose and treat patients with epilepsy and chronic pain.  In Dr. Sarma’s lab, computational neuroscience tools are revealing how […]

Read More

Two ICM Undergraduates Named Goldwater Scholars


Undergraduates Min Jae Kim and Shiker Nair have been awarded Goldwater Scholarships for their research and achievements in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math. They are among a cohort of 410 Goldwater Scholars selected for 2021–22 from an estimated pool of more than 5,000 applicants.  Established in 1986, the Goldwater Scholarship was one […]

Read More

Claire Zurn awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for 2021


Claire Zurn, a PhD candidate in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Institute for Computational Medicine, has been awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship. Zurn will receive a three-year annual stipend along with a cost of education allowance for tuition and fees and the freedom to conduct her own research. The […]

Read More

Natalia Trayanova named EHRA Fellow


Natalia Trayanova, Murray B. Sachs Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, has been named a Fellow of the European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA). This title recognizes the professional achievements of scholars and scientists who have made exceptional contributions to cardiac rhythm research, distinguishing themselves in clinical, educational, and organizational aspects of the field. Natalia […]

Read More

JHU - Institute for Computational Medicine